

Commerce City

7887 E. 60th Ave. Commerce City, CO 80022 c3gov.com

Legislation Details (With Text)

File #: 17-03 Version: 2 Name: Recognition of Commerce City nominated youth for

ACMCYA

Type: Recognition Status: Filed

File created: 1/12/2017 In control: City Council
On agenda: 4/3/2017 Final action: 4/3/2017

Title: Recognition of Commerce City Nominated Youth for Adams County Mayors and Commissioners Youth

Awards (ACMCYA)

Sponsors:

Indexes:

Code sections:

Attachments: 1. Presentation

Date	Ver.	Action By	Action	Result
4/3/2017	2	City Council	discussed and closed	

Recognition of Commerce City Nominated Youth for Adams County Mayors and Commissioners Youth Awards (ACMCYA)

Summary and Background Information: The Adams County Mayors and Commissioners Youth Awards is a program that recognizes teenagers, in grades 6 through 12, who have overcome personal adversity to create positive change in their lives. The award program provides businesses, the community and civic leaders an opportunity to actively demonstrate their support for the young people in all of our communities and recognize them for their accomplishments. Award recipients are determined through a nomination and selection process. All nominees are recognized at the local level.

A selection committee comprised of representatives from the county and local jurisdictions screened all nominations and selected approximately 22 nominees to be recognized at a county-wide celebration in April. Locally, all Commerce City nominees were recognized by City Council at a banquet on March 1 at Buffalo Run Golf Course. Finalists for the county level will be recognized on Thursday, April 27th.

We would like to recognize the nominee's tonight (in order on slideshow)

Joseph Banks

Ryan Plamowski (Pluh-Mow-skee)

Victoria Terrell

Odessy Dominguez

Nicholas Gozales

Brandon Macy

Jozlynn McCaslin

Simoukda Lounnivongsa (Si-mou-ka Lou-ni-vong-sa)

Jaime Wickersheim (Wicker-sheem)

Jessica Wickersheim (Wicker-sheem)

Ajaiye Mitchell (Aa-gi-aye)

Samantha Cruz-Mancia

Not pictured: Kambrya Martinez File #: 17-03, Version: 2

Kei-Sean Ware (Key-shawn Wear) Veronica Chavez Maranda Moreno Kylie Gonzales Nicole Wickersheim (Wicker-sheem)

We have 4 moving onto the county banquet and those four include Jaime, Jessica and Nicole Wickersheim and Jozlynn McCaslin. Congratulations to all of the nominees.

Staff Responsible (Department Head): Carolyn Keith

Staff Member Presenting: Shannon Whitmer